This is quick post explaining how to safely switch designs in Rife theme without losing your content.
Designs switcher in Rife
In Rife we have already 16 ready designs, and you may want to see how they work with your current site and content, without losing it.
If you will mark all options in importer configuration it will wipe whole your site content. It can be useful for fresh start, or new installations.
If you select everything, but not Remove current content option, then your posts, albums and other pages, will stay intact. You will however lose your sidebars and menus, and possibly other “not post” content. This is probably not what you wanted.
So how to do it?
We have explained this in documentation already, but I think it will be more clear if we just focus on this aspect in separate post.
So when you want to switch to new design without losing ANY content, you have to mark only two options:
- Import theme settings – this will only import themes options – things that you can later change in Customizer.
- Clean up after import – this will delete any files that importer had to download from our server for import process. It is good to have it checked.
In theme options in customizer there are few options that can considered “content”, like logo, cookie message, footer message or button in header. They however will be lost on design switch.
We plan to add option in future that will preserve them, but for now just be aware of it.
So hope this will come handy to some folks.